Nowhere to go, no person to care


I had my microcontroller exam yesterday and it went pretty bad. I gave my best but couldn’t write well. The day before the exam, I had to go to Udupi to get my Police clearance certificate because I’m doing my summer training in LRDE, a Dept. of defense organisation in Bangalore. I didn’t realise that this would be a tiringly long and frustrating process. We first went to the Udupi(District Headquarters) police station as directed by the people in Manipal Police Station. They say that the PCC will be given only at the SPO. We go to the SPO hoping we don’t have to go anywhere else. But we were wrong. The people at SPO are so irresponsible and dangerously slow. Despite saying that we  have our exam the next day, the guy at the counter was not speeding up the process. He has time to pick up calls and chit-chat with someone but he doesn’t proceed forward with our applications. And the worst thing is, they don’t even do their job properly. Initially when we went to the SPO, the guy said we will have to pay 250/- per head for the PCC. We were 4 people and didn’t know anything about paying money for collecting a PCC. So we had to finish the formalities and there was no lag from our side. The people at the SPO are very cruel and do not even know how much money to collect for giving the PCC. I dunno what happened, finally the guy said its 50/- per head. I wonder how a person can be so confused about how much amount to collect when he’s been doing the same job there for years. We guessed they were trying to fool us and collect more money initially. Then we had to go the Manipal Police station again where we have to write the Statement that we do not have any criminal record. It’s unbelievable how silly the whole process sounds. I still do not understand why all this non-sense is required. Govt. of India has time for useless things many a time but not for changing the system because it has been in place for so many years. I pity the poor people who have come for the same purpose as we did to the SPO and got looted of their money and sent after a long processing delay. I hate the way Indian Government functions. In Manipal Police station, there’s again not one person who feels responsible for his job. Nobody seems to care if we were waiting for a long time. Finally I got frustrated and irritated the police by asking them when we could leave as we had an exam, the constable took us to the main police inspector. He told us what all documents to submit and when to come and collect the certificate. It was as simple as that but the people who work below him do not know anything. Its shameful that very unqualified persons are filling the jobs in police stations these days. This is just one story. If I share my experiences about the Indian system, it would be a book that I have to write.

Leave a Reply

